Jessie Lee & The Alchemists

« Just as if Beth Hart had met the Tedeschi Trucks Band (comparison is obvious), “Jessie Lee & The Alchemists offers an original, powerful, generous and sincere music where the 70’s nostalgia is just the engine of an unfettered creativity. »

Biography

Created in 2015, Jessie Lee & The Alchemists is a modern blues-rock quintet co-led by singer-guitarist Jessie Lee and guitarist-composer Alexis « Mr AL » Didier, supported by bassist Laurent Cokelaere, drummer Stéphane Minana and organist Laurian Daire.
The group’s Anglo-Saxon influences are very broad, ranging from blues to rock, through soul, pop and even jazz. The music they create is modern, original, nourished by traditions, combining emotion, freedom and power.
A surprising alchemy.
Qualified as “Europe’s blues scene hope”, the band started to sharpen its art on as many stages as possible before taking a huge step, in 2018, by recording their first eponymous album. The same year, the band was rewarded by 5 prizes during the International Mississippi Blues Trail Challenge. A first acknowledgement soon confirmed, in 2019, when they won the Challenge France Blues. All of those obviously sprinkled with the European audience support.
It is with its respectability’s armor and self-confidence that the band recorded in February 2020 at Studio Midilive their second album “Let It Shine”, released on May 7, 2021 on Dixiefrog label. Mixed by the famous Kevin Shirley -entirely in analogical, just like the mastering of Globe Audio in order to stay true to what inspired them for both music and writing- the album reveals itself powerful and surprising. Each track is a painting, a journey at the crossroads of styles, which immediately contrasts the impressive Jessie Lee’ vocal talent and the inspired guitar player she is, even for rhythmic part or solo. Plug it to the virtuosity and lyricism of Alexis “Mr. AL” Didier – who’s also composer and director of the album –, the recipe hits every mark.
A European tour followed, punctuated by a top 5 finish at the European Blues Challenge 2022 in Malmö (Sweden) and a more than conquered audience at Jeff Beck’s opening act in July 2022 at the Olympia (Paris).
« Just as if Beth Hart had met the Tedeschi Trucks Band (comparison is obvious), “Let It Shine” offers an original, powerful, generous and sincere music where the 70’s nostalgia is just the engine of an unfettered creativity. »

Show more

Incoming shows

Jessie Lee & The Alchemists

Quai 472 Villefranche-sur-Saône

Jessie Lee & The Alchemists

Bluezy Blues Festival Ridderkerk (NL)

Jessie Lee & The Alchemists

St Michel de Maurienne

Jessie Lee & The Alchemists

Oslo Bluesklubb Oslo (N)

Jessie Lee & The Alchemists

Trondheim Bluesklubb Trondheim (N)

Jessie Lee & The Alchemists

Paul B Massy

Jessie Lee & The Alchemists

“ Comme si Beth Hart avait rencontré le Tedeschi Trucks Band -la comparaison s’impose comme une évidence-, Jessie Lee & The Alchemists propose une musique originale, puissante, généreuse, sincère, où la nostalgie des années 70 n’est que le moteur d’une créativité débridée…”

Biographie

Crée en 2015, Jessie Lee & The Alchemists est un quintet de modern blues-rock co-leadé par la chanteuse-guitariste Jessie Lee et par le guitariste-compositeur Alexis “Mr AL” Didier, soutenus par le bassiste Laurent Cokelaere, le batteur Stéphane Minana et l’organiste Laurian Daire.
Les influences anglo-saxones du groupe sont très larges, allant du blues au rock, en passant par la soul, la pop et même le jazz. La musique qu’ils créent est moderne, originale, nourrie de traditions, alliant émotion, liberté et puissance.
Une alchimie surprenante.
Après trois ans d’existence et de concerts à travers toute la France, un premier album éponyme voit le jour en 2018. L’accueil est excellent et le public au rendez- vous.
Qualifiés d’ « espoir de la scène blues européenne », lauréats de 5 prix lors de l’International Mississippi Blues Trail challenge en 2018 et vainqueurs du challenge France Blues 2019, les alchimistes voient les portes de l’Europe s’ouvrir à eux et remportent un vif succès auprès du public.
Déjà le groupe pense à la suite et prépare le second opus…
Les alchimistes voient grand et concoctent une grosse production.

C’est ainsi que sort le 7 mai 2021 “Let It Shine” chez le label Dixiefrog. Mixé par le célèbre Kevin Shirley -entièrement en analogique, tout comme le mastering de Globe Audio afin de rester fidèle aux influences musicales ayant inspirés l’écriture- l’album se révèle puissant et surprenant. Chaque morceau est un tableau, un voyage à la croisée des styles, qui met immédiatement en perspective le talent vocal incroyable de Jessie Lee auquel il ne faudrait surtout pas oublier celui de la guitariste inspirée, que le propos soit rythmique ou soliste. Associée à la virtuosité et au lyrisme du jeu de guitare d’Alexis « Mr AL » Didier – qui signe également la composition et la réalisation de l’album –, la formule fait mouche à tous les coups.
S’en suit une tournée européenne, ponctuée par une place dans le top 5 lors du European Blues Challenge 2022 à Malmö (Suède) et un public plus que conquis lors de la première partie de Jeff Beck en juillet 2022 à L’Olympia (Paris).
“ Comme si Beth Hart avait rencontré le Tedeschi Trucks Band -la comparaison s’impose comme une évidence-, « Let It Shine » propose une musique originale, puissante, généreuse, sincère, où la nostalgie des années 70 n’est que le moteur d’une créativité débridée…”

Afficher plus

Concerts à venir

Jessie Lee & The Alchemists

Quai 472 Villefranche-sur-Saône

Jessie Lee & The Alchemists

Bluezy Blues Festival Ridderkerk (NL)

Jessie Lee & The Alchemists

St Michel de Maurienne

Jessie Lee & The Alchemists

Oslo Bluesklubb Oslo (N)

Jessie Lee & The Alchemists

Trondheim Bluesklubb Trondheim (N)

Jessie Lee & The Alchemists

Paul B Massy