Monty Alexander

"I love Jamaica. I love America. I love them both together more than each one separately. I inhabit the rhythmic aspect of both things. I can't explain why. I do it naturally and joyfully. I am confident and proud and privileged to say that I come from a multi-cultural and multi-ethnic thing. The slogan of Jamaica is like America's E Pluribus Unum, out of many, one people"

Biography

Bio photo
Bio photo

Nearly sixty years after he moved to the United States from Kingston, Jamaica, his hometown, Grammy® nominated legendary pianist Monty Alexander is an American classic, touring the world relentlessly with various projects, delighting a global audience drawn to his vibrant personality and soulful message. A perennial favorite at the Montreux Jazz Festival where he has performed and headlined concerts 23 times since 1976 his spirited conception is one informed by the timeless verities: endless melody-making, effervescent grooves, sophisticated voicings, a romantic spirit, and a consistent predisposition, as Alexander accurately states, “to build up the heat and kick up a storm.” In the course of any given performance, Alexander applies those aesthetics to a repertoire spanning a broad range of Jazz and Jamaican musical expressions.

 

Documented on more than 75 recordings and cited as the fifth greatest jazz pianist ever in The Fifty Greatest Jazz Piano Players of All Time (Hal Leonard Publishing), the Jamaican government designated Alexander Commander in the Order of Distinction in 2000 and in 2018 the University of The West Indies bestowed him with an honorary doctorate degree (DLitt) in recognition of his merits.

 

Alexander is most widely known as an upper echelon master of the swinging piano trio function, as he has demonstrated with several top-shelf groups, including iconic units with bassist John Clayton and drummer Jeff Hamilton (“Montreux Alexander ‘76”), and with the legendary bassist Ray Brown and guitarist Herb Ellis (“Triple Treat”).

 

Born on D-Day, June 6, 1944, Alexander was playing Christmas carols by ear at 4, entertaining neighbors and relatives by 5, taking his first piano lessons at 6. He resisted formal instruction, but still, as a child, absorbed all the musical flavors that comprise his mature sonic palette. Alexander began playing in local Kingston clubs at 14, when he also made his first recordings, as leader of a group called Monty and the Cyclones that landed a hit on the top ten charts, and as a sideman for such legendary producers as Ken Khouri (Federal Records), Duke Reid (Treasure Isle), and Clement Coxsone Dodd at Studio One. These early sessions for Federal, which Alexander describes as “not calypso music, but the beginning of Ska,” included such subsequently famous talents as trombonist Don Drummond, tenor saxophonist Roland Alphonso and guitarist Ernest Ranglin. Alexander’s Jamaican roots include witnessing the legendary singer-pianist Nat Cole in concert in 1953 at Kingston’s Carib Theater. “In our home, Nat Cole was the voice of America,” says Alexander, who describes the Cole and Armstrong concerts to which his father took him in the 1950s as a transformational moment.

 

While playing in Las Vegas in 1962 he caught the eye of New York City club owner Jilly Rizzo and his friend Frank Sinatra. Alexander’s trio swung at Jilly’s until the wee hours for Sinatra, a mix of celebrity entertainers, tough guys, and iconic jazz musicians like Miles Davis, Count Basie, Milt Jackson, and Roy Haynes. Before long, Alexander was working with Jazz titans Dizzy Gillespie, Clark Terry, and Sonny Rollins.

 

As the 1960s progressed, he also held regular gigs at Minton’s (the iconic Harlem lounge where bebop gestated), and at the Playboy Club. During these years, he met Quincy Jones, Ray Brown and piano giant Oscar Peterson, who recommended Alexander to Hans Georg Brunner-Schwer, the proprietor of Germany’s MPS label, for which he made a dozen records between 1971 and 1985. Alexander would also perform on Jones’ 1970 Smackwater Jack album, sharing piano duties with Herbie Hancock, and on classic albums with Dizzy Gillespie and Clark Terry live at the 1977 Montreux Jazz Festival. He was a member of the first iteration of Gillespie’s United Nations Orchestra during the middle 1980s, and played a memorable engagement with Sonny Rollins in 1990 on the Hudson River Jazz Cruise in New York City.

On Jamento, a 1978 recording for Norman Granz’s Pablo label, he introduced his “ivory and steel” concept of “marrying” steel pan and hand-drums to the acoustic piano trio. He would continue these explorations on recordings for Concord and Island Records (“Yard Movement”, 1996) and find the definitive expression on his 2011 Grammy nominated recording, “Harlem Kingston Express: Live!” (Motema Records).

 

In 1991, he worked with Cole’s daughter, Natalie Cole, on “Unforgettable… with Love”, her 7-Grammy Award winning tribute album to her father. Other career highlights include a performance of George Gershwin’s “Rhapsody in Blue” with a full orchestra under the direction of Bobby McFerrin at the Verbier Festival in Switzerland, recording the piano track on four selections of the soundtrack of Bird, Clint Eastwood’s Charlie Parker biopic, and playing on Quincy Jones’ For Love Of Ivy film score, starring Sidney Poitier and Abbey Lincoln.

 

2019 marked Monty Alexander’s 75th birthday, a London Royal Albert Hall debut solo performance celebrating the music of Duke Ellington, and the 10th edition of his name sake’s Jazz Festival in Easton (MD) for which he has he has served as Artistic Director and perennial performer.

In 2022 Obelisk Media (obeliskmedia.net) has undertaken the production of a feature documentary on the life and times of this jazz piano virtuoso and legendary musical icon. The Obelisk production team, headed by veteran film producer Arthur Gorson, and working with Academy Award®-winning documentarian/cinematographer Jefferson Miller, will begin filming The Monty Alexander Story. The project to document Monty’s extraordinary musical and personal accomplishments is being produced in association with Monty and his manager Caterina Zapponi.

 

Show more

Incoming shows

Monty Alexander

Garons - Nîmes Metropole Jazz festival Nîmes

Monty Alexander

Nîmes Métropole Jazz Festival Nîmes

Monty Alexander

Festival Jazz sur son 31 Toulouse

Monty Alexander

La Halle aux Grains Toulouse

Monty Alexander

Après plus de cinquante ans d’une carrière ornée de collaborations avec Tony Bennett, Nathalie Cole, Clint Eastwood, Dizzy Gillespie, Sonny Rollins, Quincy Jones, Ernest Ranglin ou Barbara Hendricks, le pianiste parcourt sans relâche le monde pour ravir le public de sa personnalité vibrante, porteuse d’un message musical original, où le beat entêtant du reggae croise le balancement contagieux du swing.

Biographie

Bio photo
Bio photo

Près de soixante ans après avoir quitté sa ville natale de Kingston en Jamaïque pour s’installer aux États-Unis, le pianiste légendaire Monty Alexander, nominé aux Grammy Awards®, est un classique de la scène musicale américaine, parcourant inlassablement la planète, avec de nouveaux projets à chacune de ses tournées, réjouissant un public mondial grâce à sa personnalité vibrante et son message aussi éloquent que profond. Une vedette très attendue à chaque nouvelle édition du Festival de Jazz de Montreux, où il a joué en tête d’affiche dans 23 concerts depuis 1976, son énergie fougueuse incarne des vérités intemporelles : une créativité mélodique toujours renouvelée, des rythmes effervescents, des vocalises raffinées, un esprit romantique, et une prédisposition constante, comme il le dit lui-même si justement, “de faire monter la température jusqu’à la tempête.” Au cours de chacune de ses représentations, Alexander applique cette esthétique à un large répertoire d’expressions musicales jamaïcaines et de jazz.

Avec plus de 75 enregistrements à son actif, et cité comme le cinquième plus grand pianiste de jazz de l’histoire dans “Les cinquante plus grands pianistes de jazz de tous les temps” (Éditions Hal Leonard), le gouvernement jamaïcain a décerné à Alexander le titre de Commandeur de l’Ordre de la Distinction en 2000, et en 2018 l’Université des Caraïbes lui a attribué un doctorat honorifique (DLitt) en reconnaissance de ses mérites.

Alexander est plus largement connu comme un maître de premier rang des trios de piano endiablés, comme il l’a démontré en jouant avec divers groupes de tout premier plan, y compris des morceaux emblématiques avec le bassiste John Clayton et le percussionniste Jeff Hamilton (“Montreux Alexander ‘76”), ainsi qu’avec le bassiste légendaire Ray Brown et le guitariste Herb Ellis (“Triple Treat”).

Né en même temps que le débarquement en Normandie, soit le 6 juin 1944, à 4 ans Alexander jouait déjà à l’oreille des chants de Noël et divertissait ses voisins et sa famille dès 5 ans. C’est à 6 ans qu’il a commencé à prendre des leçons de piano. Il est resté rétif vis-à-vis des méthodes d’enseignement classique, tout en s’imprégnant d’une grande variété d’ambiances musicales au cours de son enfance, des influences qui composent aujourd’hui sa riche palette artistique. À 14 ans Alexander commence à jouer dans des clubs locaux de Kingston ; c’est à la même époque qu’il fait ses tout premiers enregistrements en tant que leader du groupe Monty and the Cyclones connu pour son tube classé aux dix premiers de la hit-parade, et en tant que musicien pour des producteurs aussi légendaires que Ken Khouri (Federal Records), Duke Reid (Treasure Isle) et Clement Coxsone Dodd au Studio One. Ces premières séances pour Federal Records, qu’Alexander décrit comme “non plus du calypso, mais la naissance du ska,” ont fait apparaître des talents qui devaient bientôt devenir des célébrités, comme le tromboniste Don Drummond, le saxophoniste ténor Roland Alphonso et le guitariste Ernest Ranglin. Les racines jamaïcaines d’Alexander incluent sa rencontre avec le chanteur et pianiste mythique Nat Cole lors d’un concert donné par ce dernier en 1953 au Carib Theater de Kingston. “Pour nous, à la maison, Nat Cole représentait la voix de l’Amérique,” se rappelle-t-il, décrivant les concerts de Cole et d’Armstrong où il se rendait avec son père dans les années 50, comme un tournant transformateur de son existence.

C’est en jouant à Las Vegas en 1962 qu’il attire l’attention de Jilly Rizzo, propriétaire d’un club New Yorkais, et de son ami Frank Sinatra. C’est ainsi que le trio d’Alexander jouait jusqu’au petit matin pour Sinatra et une bande d’artistes célèbres, de durs à cuire et de musiciens immensément talentueux comme Miles Davis, Count Basie, Milt Jackson, et Roy Haynes. Très vite, Alexander s’est retrouvé à jouer avec les titans du jazz Dizzy Gillespie, Clark Terry et Sonny Rollins.

Au cours des années 1960, il a aussi joué régulièrement au Minton’s (ce club mythique de Harlem, berceau du bebop), ainsi qu’au Club Playboy. Pendant toutes ces années, il a pu ainsi jouer avec Quincy Jones, Ray Brown et le pianiste hors pair Oscar Peterson, lequel a recommandé Alexander à Hans Georg Brunner-Schwer, propriétaire du label allemand MPS, pour qui il a enregistré une douzaine d’albums de 1971 à 1985. Alexander a également participé à l’album Smackwater Jack de Jones en 1970, partageant les performances pianistiques avec Herbie Hancock, et à des albums classiques avec Dizzy Gillespie et Clark Terry en concert lors du Festival de Jazz de Montreux. Il fut membre d’une des premières moutures de l’Orchestre des Nations Unies de Dizzy Gillespie au milieu des années 1980, et il joua lors d’un concert mémorable avec Sonny Rollins en 1990, lors d’une croisière de jazz sur le fleuve Hudson à New York.

Dans Jamento, un enregistrement de 1978 pour le label Pablo de Norman Granz, il inaugura son concept d’“ivoire et d’acier” consistant à “marier” le steel drum et les percussions manuelles avec son trio de piano acoustique. Ces expériences, qu’il a poursuivi lors d’enregistrements pour Concord and Island Records (“Yard Movement”, 1996) trouvent leur expression définitive dans son enregistrement de 2011 nominé aux Grammy, Harlem Kingston Express: Live! (Motema Records).

En 1991, il a travaillé avec la fille de Cole, Natalie Cole, dans “Unforgettable… with Love”, un album d’hommage à son père, 7 fois lauréat aux Grammy Awards. D’autres moments prestigieux de sa carrière incluent son interprétation du célèbre Rhapsody in Blue de George Gershwin avec un orchestra complet, sous la direction de Bobby McFerrin, lors du Festival Verbier en Suisse, le piano dans quatre sélections de la bande originale du film Bird, ce film biographique de Clint Eastwood sur Charlie Parker, et sa participation à la bande originale de Quincy Jones dans For Love Of Ivy, avec Sidney Poitier et Abbey Lincoln.

L’année 2019 a été marquée par le 75ème anniversaire de Monty Alexander, une performance en solo au London Royal Albert Hall, célébrant la musique de Duke Ellington, et la 10ème édition du Festival de Jazz d’Easton (MD), dont il fut à la fois directeur artistique et pianiste vétéran.

En 2022 Obelisk Media (obeliskmedia.net) a entrepris de produire un documentaire sur la vie et l’expérience de ce virtuose du piano de jazz et icône musicale légendaire. L’équipe de production d’Obelisk, avec à sa tête le producteur vétéran Arthur Gorson et le cinéaste documentaire Jefferson Miller, lauréat des Academy Award®, commencera à tourner The Monty Alexander Story. Ce projet, consistant à relater les réalisations musicales et personnelles exceptionnelles de Monty, est co-produit par Monty lui-même et son agent Caterina Zapponi.

« J’adore la Jamaïque. J’adore l’Amérique. Et je les adore ensemble, encore plus que séparés. J’habite l’univers rythmique de chacun d’entre eux. Je ne pourrais pas vous en expliquer la raison. Ça me vient naturellement, joyeusement. Je suis fier et confiant, et j’ai le privilège de pouvoir affirmer venir d’un monde multi-culturel et multi-ethnique. Le slogan de la Jamaïque ressemble à celui des États-Unis, « E Pluribus Unum » : « De plusieurs, un seul peuple. »

—Monty Alexander

 

Afficher plus

Concerts à venir

Monty Alexander

Garons - Nîmes Metropole Jazz festival Nîmes

Monty Alexander

Nîmes Métropole Jazz Festival Nîmes

Monty Alexander

Festival Jazz sur son 31 Toulouse

Monty Alexander

La Halle aux Grains Toulouse